My current project: Spacetaker’s Apocalypto

For those of you who may not know, I was promoted to Executive Director of Spacetaker earlier this year- truly a big honor for me!

(Scroll down to the bottom where I continue, but not before you click on the pic for a preview…)

Continued…


I first became familiar with Spacetaker when trying to get a fledgling theatre company off the ground– and David Brown’s organization was certainly instrumental in the growth and attention Nova Arts Project received.  Since then, I have been a big believer in Spacetaker’s mission- and it’s potential to advocate our city’s artists so that they receive the recognition and support they deserve, as well as to equip them with professional development tools to further their careers. I am fortunate to work alongside an amazing team of committed and passionate board members (to whom I owe so much), as well as a thrilling group of local artists.
We have BIG plans for Spacetaker in the next few years… and the success of events like the upcoming gala on March 20th will be what paves the way for those plans.  I welcome you all to join me next Saturday for what I promise will be one of the best parties of the year.  Spacetaker designs each gala to be an arts showcase as much as a fundraiser: there will be 9 different acts (modern dance, a string quartet, a honkey-tonk band, comedy improv, etc!), over 30 performers, over 20 visual artists featured, 10 different restaurants, open bars with drinks abounding… and best of all, the company of wonderful people who love our Houston art scene. (Not to mention our party takes place in the middle of an extraordinary FotoFest exhibition!)  You can get tickets and more info here: http://www.spacetaker.org/apocalypto

I hope to see you there!

~ by ladamesansregrets on March 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
