To all you Twaters out there:

If you don’t want to read about my last meal, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to read my feedback on a movie or TV show I just watched, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to hear about the bizarre incident I just witnessed on the highway, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to hear the side-splitting comment I just overheard from the drunk girl sitting next to me at a bar, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to know about the great party I’m enjoying (where you just might be welcome), unfollow me.

If you don’t want to hear about the causes dear to my heart, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to see a picture of something that made me smile, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to see a clip of a video that made me cry my eyes out, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to hear a song that made me giggle, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to read an article that inspired rage in me, unfollow me.

If you don’t want to read more about the world news I felt like sharing, unfollow me.

And if you don’t care to know the details, the minutiae… that serve as sign-posts  marking the handful of notable moments making up my life each day… then, go right ahead and hit that ‘unfollow’ button.

But don’t put me down for sharing.  And don’t judge those who enjoy this connection- perhaps only virtual- we share.  The world is a lonely place, and we are constantly grasping for common ground.  As the digital age pulls us farther apart, must we criticize a tool to bring us together?  The wonderful people I’ve met, the fun quips of strangers, the goings-on at events across the country, the helping hands when I have a question… these are the things that have sold me.  With ‘140 characters or less,’ I know I am not alone- through the highlights and the tedium.  And that means something.  And doesn’t it mean something that I want to know the minutiae of your life, too?

They say the beauty’s in the details.

~ by ladamesansregrets on March 23, 2009.

5 Responses to “To all you Twaters out there:”

  1. Awesome post Jenni! So true!

  2. *applauds*

    This post addresses one of my biggest irritations about Twitter: people who don’t grasp the concept: “just scroll on past, or quit reading altogether, if you don’t like it!”

  3. Well said and it needed to be said. Rue them!

  4. As someone who just twittered his way through the entirety of Across the Universe — to the tune of something like 35 or 40 tweets, I think — may I just high five you?

    Did someone really get on your case for Twittering too much? Because you don’t really twitter that much. And your tweets are relevant and mostly interesting. And even if they weren’t, Tweets are small enough to be easily skippable.

    I don’t get people some times.

  5. I joined Twitter out of boredom and curiosity about 6 months ago. None of my friends would do it. I wouldn’t shut up about it. Now everyone’s addicted! Twitter is THE source of both the imperative and the mundane. The twaters can suck it!

Leave a Reply

 
