Eight Random Things About Me

Yesterday, I was tagged in a blog post by Miss Margaret MacDonald,  who can be best described as sunshine… who also gives such good hugs that I highly recommend you steal one from her as soon as possible.  In the blog post, entitled “Eight Random and Cheesy Things About Me,” we learned 8 random facts about Miss Maggie and now, I have been charged with sharing 8 random facts about myself.  The strange habits that first come to mind are already listed here, but I’m not so normal that I can’t come up with a few more:

1. I am not a fan of the expression ‘LOL.’  I can’t really explain by aversion to it, aside from perhaps disappointment that I am not usually left ‘laughing out loud’ by whatever comment precedes it.  And no, adding ‘LOL’ does not make it funnier- or does it?  Maybe I’m just humorless.  The only thing I find more distasteful is a limp handshake.

2. I am a film and TV snob.  I never watch popular television shows and can never relate to the water-cooler conversations about last night’s episode of “The Office” or “My Name is Earl.”  The real reason I don’t watch TV is because I am always busy and never at home- but I claim it is due to the questionable content and quality of network television these days.  (Despite my feigned prejudice, I watched the entire series of Dawson’s Creek on TBS from beginning to finish before my morning classes in college.)  I have been told I need to invest in a Tivo, but after a friend of mine started feeling judged by the selections her Tivo would suggest, I opted nay.  I don’t really need to be any more embarrassed by loving the Hallmark Hall of Fame than I already am.

I have set boundaries that I will never again watch movies with Will Ferrell in them.  No matter how funny you tell me they are, I know better.  I got through precisely 7 minutes and 46 seconds of ‘Elf’ and 11 minutes and 23 seconds of ‘The Anchorman’ before I wanted to gouge my eyes out of their sockets.  My guess is this is a trend.  After being grossly disappointed by ‘Tropic Thunder,’ Jack Black and Ben Stiller have also joined my movie-star Hall of Shame… and the only thing keeping Jim Carrey off the list is ‘The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.’  He is, however, on probation until further notice.

3. Speaking of the Hallmark Hall of Fame, their commercials always make me cry.  Seriously.  Hallmark, Kodak, and Folgers get me every time.  In explaining why they make me cry to my friends, I have tried to reenact my favorite Hallmark commercial featuring the man with Down’s Syndrome and his new apartment.  Usually that doesn’t go over so well.

That said, I cry more easily than anyone I know.  I watched ‘Kung Fu Panda’ the other night and cried 3 times.

4. I love Star Trek: The Next Generation.  This is not a secret anymore- not since my best friend threw me a Star Trek themed birthday party.  She even made Tribbles for me.  When I revealed that I had not only read the books, but owned the Enterprise Technical Manual,  my friends realized they had completely underestimated my nerdiness.

5. If I see a stray animal on the side of the road, I will invariably stop to try to help it.  This also applies to certain wild animals.  In the past, I have ended up in the street trying to corral dogs, cats, squirrels, raccoons, possums, and even nutria.  Yes, nutria- they are way cuter than you would imagine.

6. I have been a serious dancer, singer, and pianist.  In my dancing days, I aspired to belong to the Alvin Ailey dance company.  If you know anything about Alvin Ailey, you know that is about as likely as my being on the Chinese Olympic Team.  One can always dream.

7. I once sang back-up for Andrea Boccelli.  True story.  He was singing in concert at Compaq Center (before it was Lakewood Church).  He is very tall and very shy.  When we launched into ‘Con te partiro’- during the third encore- the crowd screamed louder than I’ve ever heard in any sports stadium.

8. I am a big fan of random, unsolicited acts of kindness.  Even a simple smile from a stranger can put me in a good mood all day.  The Pay-it-forward idea is a good one.  I feel like we have an obligation to make the world a better place, and I tend to gravitate to those who feel the same way.  I strive to give back to the community in a tangible way, and that is why I love to teach.  I starting teaching ballet at age 13 and voice lessons at 18.  I have never been prouder than when one of my oldest students (who I had taught voice from the time she was in 6th grade until she graduated from high school) announced she was majoring in music at Baylor.  (Her name, coincidentally, is Maggie.)  When I have time, I look forward to doing that again.

9. And I will add one to the list, because, unlike Maggie, I LOVE odd numbers- and especially ones divisible by 3.  I consider myself one of the luckiest girls alive.  I have a wonderful job that allows me to surround myself with all kinds of artists and creative types.  I have a wonderful, loving family which is more functionally dysfunctional than most.  I have an outstanding collection of fun, passionate, caring, creative, generous, bright friends- who never cease to amaze me with their charms and who are as close to me as family.  And lastly, I am dating a man who not only calms the unrest in me and inspires me to be a better person, but also knows how to make me laugh like no other.  I can’t ask for more.

Because I also cheated and added one more fact to the list, the people I tag only need to come up with 7 facts and to tag 7 people.

You’re it:

1. Noel Bowers, because his blogs keep me rolling, and I imagine he can put his childlike spin on this.

2. Buffalo Sean, because I want to see if he will actually do it.  And because I love his art blog.

3. Michael, because he always has great insight on things.

4. My Sweetie, because I wish he would blog more.

5. Jonathan, because I like him and want to know more about him.

6. Chet, because I think he is witty.

7. Christina, because she is warm.

8. Keith, because he is clearly in need of a outlet for his inner comedian.

9. Vika, because she is poetic.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it?

  • Link your original tagger(s), and list these rules on your blog.
  • Share seven facts about yourself in the post – some random, some weird.
  • Tag seven people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
  • Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blogs and/or Twitter.
~ by ladamesansregrets on December 11, 2008.

4 Responses to “Eight Random Things About Me”

  1. This post made me smile (but not LOL of course). You are so fun and I am so blessed to have you in my life. I am sad that you like odd numbers but I think this is something we can work through given enough time.

  2. these are all very impressive, especially singing back up for Andrea Boccelli. I absolutely love his voice and now have a new appreciation for yours.

  3. We may be soul mates.

    I too detest “LOL.” I see nothing wrong with “That made me laugh!” or even the simplistic yet effective “Hahahahahahahaha!” But “LOL”? Pass.

    I cannot STAND Will Ferrell. I think he is the biggest moron to hit the screen. And I do NOT find that entertaining.

    Those sappy commercials get me every time, too. I am relieved to know that I am not alone.

    I also must assist any and all stray animals I find. It’s my civic duty!

    Random acts of kindness are beautiful, beautiful things.

  4. […] Remarks Katie on Overly AccommodatingFayza on Eight Random Things About…Fayza on Overly AccommodatingVika Filippov on Overly AccommodatingVika Filippov on Eight […]

Leave a Reply

 
