Davey Jones Challenge

There’s a bit of choreography in the show in which I am performing that looks strikingly like something Davey Jones (of Monkees fame) would whip out on the dance floor.  In rehearsal, this particular move has been referred to as ‘The Davey Jones.’  Here are some of my cast-mates engaging in The Davey Jones Challenge:

Yeah, so I know the video is sideways.  I think adds to the psychedelic 60’s feel.  Plus, I can’t figure out how to rotate the video on my phone.  (Forgive my goofy giggling in the video.)

To enhance the post, I thought a pic of Davey Jone’s mug would be a nice touch and upon googling ‘Davey Jones,’ I see THIS:

Davy Jones

What the hell?!  Who is that?!  And why does his picture trump that of Monkees Davey Jones on Google Image Search?!  Should I be alarmed that I am so out of the pop-culture loop that I don’t know?  And isn’t anyone else seriously disturbed by a dude with a squid-face?  Do I really need to endure a couple hours with Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley’s bottom lip to find out?  Yikes.

~ by ladamesansregrets on June 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
