Pet Peeve #24: Shoes

I have an issue with shoes.  My issue is that I can’t wear them without destroying them in short order.  This first became evident when, in high school, my mom let me borrow her gorgeous black snakeskin spike-heels and I immediately dug my heel into the seams of the sidewalk- skinning the heels of both shoes.  Since then, I have learned that expensive designer shoes are not in the cards for me.  The likelihood of my breaking off heels, ripping the fabric, and tearing the shoes apart rises proportionally with the price I pay for them. 

This may not sound like a big deal- but I assure you, it is.  And it doesn’t help that my friend Cyndi always has the most drool-worthy shoes: stunning lime-green sandals, strappy black numbers, and cute spikes.  And to add to the torture, she wears the same size as I do and lives a block down the street.  She has offered on numerous occasions to let me borrow from her collection… and because I am a good friend, I have declined. 

Why do I bring this up?  Because sadly, Paris and Nicole are the worse for wear.  (Don’t know Paris and Nicole?  See HERE.)  I was doing this fabulous mambo routine in rehearsals (as Tina Sparkles) when mid-lunge, I scraped all the silver paint off the sides of my new babies.  Four days old! 

Moral of the story: Don’t let me borrow your shoes.  I will annihilate them.

~ by ladamesansregrets on June 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
